Unexpected Art

I recently made a trip to the Bristol Renaissance Fair in Illinois, where I came across an awe-inspiring work of art in an unexpected medium…

Orchard

Legos.

Yep. Naturally, my inner shutterbug had to capture some of these images.

The artist of this unique display is part-time Lego hobby-ist Dale Klein of the Northern Illinois Lego Train Club. He started with the idea of building a castle; seven years later, the result was a 40,000-piece landscape complete with every possible kind of (family-friendly) medieval imagery.

My thoughts exactly.

My photos don’t do the whole sculpture justice; you can view more detail in the video below. It’s put together in eight sections, each of which blend together seamlessly to create this impressively detailed medieval landscape.

Video credit of Kevin Koehler via Youtube.

Leave a comment